HipsterZOMBIEJoint New Music Friday Picks 7/10/20

Lots of great new albums are dropping today to get us rockin’ through the weekend! All of these albums and more are now streaming on Apple Music and Spotify.

The Glow – DMA’S

Per NME:

The Australian band’s expansive third album shrugs off many of the expectations that have been placed on the commonly Britpop-affiliated group. While borrowing elements from the very best – from the Primal Scream-meets-Iggy Pop psychedelic punk of opener ‘Never Before’ through to the title track, which recalls the everyday storytelling of early Arctic Monkeys, and ‘Round & Around’, a looping, hypnotic burst of The Chemical Brothers’ dancing might – DMA’s still manage on their third album to craft a sound of their very own.

Monsters – The Midnight

Per Exclaim:

On their third full-length album, the Midnight expand on their existing songwriting template to ensure that their affection for the transience of things is not mired by stasis. Where previous releases like 2017’s excellent Nocturnal EP and 2018’s restrained follow-up Kids paired a subtle, brooding ambience against a bright, youthful veneer, Monsters tools up for the big messy questions of those tumultuous teenage years. “Prom Night” and “Seventeen” are slow-dance bangers imbued with blazing guitar solos and hopeless romanticism, tailor-made for grand gestures and boomboxes held overhead. “Dance with Somebody” is a faithful homage to Whitney Houston‘s ’80s Grammy-winning smash hit, sounding less like an overt cover and more of a fever dream reimagining of the original’s flirtatious mood and vibe.

Magickal Mystical Indifference – Rebel Wizard

Per AstralNoize:

Fans of previous records will go into Magickal Mystical Indifference knowing what to expect, and having their expectations met. Rebel Wizard’s music has always drawn heavily from the inherent energy and aggression of blackened thrash, with an added atmosphere that verges on the magical, and that continues to form the basis of the music.

Pray For It – July Talk

Per Exclaim:

Pray for It, the band’s third album, leans harder into this thoughtfulness that shaped July Talk’s sophomore record: gone are the soaring riffs, the rapid-shot lyrics and the fire in the belly. Instead, it’s a haunting, mid-tempo offering, more suitable to a smoky lounge than a dingy dive bar.

Sound Of The Storm – Ghost Of Tsushima Soundtrack

Per NME:

“Having multiple voices sculpting the score can weave a more diverse and elaborate musical tapestry for the game’s story and action to sit upon,” Rev. Dr. Bradley D Meyer, audio director at Sucker Punch, previously said. “Ilan and Ume both brought something very special to the score that we used to craft the emotional backbone of the entire world: from the story to combat to exploring the island.”

Come back next week for a fresh batch of new music Friday picks only on the HipsterZOMBIEJoint Experience!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s